The mess & update in the niche

I try to be zen. Decluttered. Minimal. And then, I have dirty little secrets, that I’m ashamed of.  And that’s my storage niche.

See the niche, at the back there?

See the niche, at the back there?

First, I don’t like any of this being ‘out in the open’ – ie visible from other parts of my bedroom. I did buy some shutters (from the op shop, so second hand) to refashion to hide this area. They are living with a friend, who may never get around to cutting them to size. Which really should encourage me to keep this area tidy and minimal!  Here’s what’s in there:

Two suitcases, the water polo bag (with gear in it), additional throw, mosquito net, blow heater

Two suitcases, the water polo bag (with gear in it), additional throw, mosquito net, blow heater

More mess - carpet offcuts and the summer rug

More mess – carpet offcuts and the summer rug. Oh and dumpster scavenged Christmas wrapping paper!

This mattress used to be under my bed, but it went back here.  I don't love it, it's a bit messy, but easier than trying to get it under my low rider bed

This mattress used to be under my bed, but it went back here. I don’t love it, it’s a bit messy, but easier than trying to get it under my low rider bed

Before: with old carpet but empty

Before: with old carpet but empty

From what’s in here, this is my ‘plan’

  • use carpet off-cuts to re-carpet the niche (it’s the old beige carpet, and the rest of the upstairs is grey)
  • use or lose the blow heater (deadly things that they are)
  • consider storing mozzie net and throw in linen closet (or install shelves in niche…)
  • do I need an empty box for my Le Creuset? No! Let’s get that reccyled/repurposed now the box for all gluten free flours!

Well since I’ve drafted this, I got a bee in my bonnet, and got that carpet changed! Here’s the afters!

New carpet in the niche!!

New carpet in the niche!!

Sometimes, my house is a mess! (All the stuff from the niche)

Sometimes, my house is a mess! (All the stuff from the niche)

Another view of the empty, newly carpeted niche

Another view of the empty, newly carpeted niche

Wow there was something seriously up with my camera there! Sorry for blurry/blotchy!

Now for it filled up again:

And the mattress, keeping it all 'hidden'

And the mattress, keeping it all ‘hidden’

Suitcases now on a different wall, with the throw, heater and a winter jacket to the left

Suitcases now on a different wall, with the throw, heater and a winter jacket to the left

Summer rug, wrapping paper, and some of the mattress

Summer rug, wrapping paper, and some of the mattress

Sigh.  My dirty little secret.  Once it’s hidden, bare bones minimal and proper organised, I’ll be content.

For now, you’ll know, not every where is show room ready…  Any wizz-bang tidy up ideas? Ways to store what I more nicely?

14 thoughts on “The mess & update in the niche

  1. The new carpet does wonders, looks great! We have an area just like this behind the door in the study. I’m wondering if a large bookcase with doors (eg. Ikea “Billy”) will help us with keeping it organised. But then often, more storage = more clutter longterm!

    I’m surprised that no wall-hooks have made their way into the niche 😛

    Reply
    • Oh Fiona – you’re right – no hooks! Maybe I need shelves, perhaps? I’m wary of shelves too – cause more space to store, means you store more.

      Reply
  2. The carpet came out nicely! I think everyone has one area dedicated to stuff. Mine is usually the closet. In our current apartment we have a tiny closet which houses the circuit breaker and we’ve mashed some things in there, along with our regular clothes closet. They’re the only two we have! Other than that, my boyfriend has taken to putting lots of his stuff (mostly running shoes) under the bed.

    Reply
    • Hmm maybe I could go back to the ‘under the bed’ for the mattress – but the decluttering folks are anti things under the bed. I am lucky to have that space – and nothing is cramped in!

      Reply
  3. I think you’re doing well. As others have commented, we all have out of season stuff. Only show houses don’t. Could you have a little low cupboard built in so that the stuff is not in view.

    Reply
  4. Like others have said, the carpet looks really nice 🙂 I struggle with storage as well, living in one room with no built-in storage. Last year when I drove from Melbourne to Brisbane I brought a whole lot of stuff from my parents’ place, like old school books and things I want to keep. Of course I’m cursing myself now because I have nowhere to put them. Until recently I stored them under the house, but with all the rain we’ve had this year, I was worried about mould, so now have boxes under my table and desk. It’s not ideal, but 90% of the time I’m the only person here, so I can just deal with it 🙂

    Weird question, but where did you get the mattress? I’ve been looking for something like that for when I have guests – not too big and bulky. I have a thermarest for camping, but it’s not that comfortable for guests.

    Reply
    • The mattress is practically a family heirloom! I think it’s from Clark Rubber or somewhere similar. They’ll cut it to size, or even a few big squares that join together.

      I’ve really scaled down my school and uni records and memorabilia in the past few years, cause it was too heavy for me to want to move again!

      Reply
  5. I’m thinking a build in with shelving or something. Make it a closet. I do think the carpet makes it look like part of the room and not some forgotten land.

    Reply
    • Thanks Cj – the continuous carpet is definitely an improvement. I’m thinking some shelving is the way to go, just to keep things tidier. And maybe the mattress can go back under the bed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

