Film review: World War Z

I really think you, my readers, are high brow and that a blockbuster movie review will probably be of little value to you. Nonetheless, I’m not finished another book yet (though I did start on a fiction book – yay) so instead, I bring you a film review, which shall be World War Z.

Helicopters and zombies source: betheredcarpet.co.uk

Helicopters and zombies
source: betheredcarpet.co.uk

I’m pretty interested in the ‘end of the world’ – whether it’s in the form of a natural disaster (remember my Emergency book from the book inventory post?) or from a more ‘minor’ adjustment to life – such as the holocaust.  So World War Z was on my ‘to watch’ list the first time I saw a trailer.

The story is humans becoming zombies through some sort of rabies like infection.  The premise of the movie is for Brad Pitt to find the source of the virus (disease/infection – you can see I’m not really on top of this medical terminology) and hopefully a vaccine.  To be honest, I’m not a zombie fan (though I did see Warm Bodies a little while aog) but this movie made it seem possible and realistic.  A viral infection that causes people not to die, but to stay in a permanent in between state, and continue to infect people.  It almost seemed plausible! 

Interestingly, despite the film probably paying through the nose for Brad Pitt, it could have been any actor in this film and it would have still been enjoyable.  That being said, if you’re going to have a jet setting UN agent, why not make it shaggy haired Brad Pitt?  His wife was pretty well played too – she’s strong and courageous when she needs to be (before they are helicoptered to safety) and scared and lonely when she calls him (at most inopportune time, waking the South Korean zombies in the airfield!)

There were so many things I thought might or could happen in the film that didn’t. Why did Brad Pitt’s family take the Indian boy from New Jersey (where they crashed in a family’s apartment)?  Who would take an extra kid to a naval ship with limited space?  How come Brad’s wife gets a satellite phone, come on, she’s just doing nothing on the naval ship and the world is ending!! Why take a recently bitten, then amputated, Israeli solider scooped up and taken with Brad Pitt on a long haul passenger plane full of people? She could have ‘turned’ at any time! Or when Brad Pitt’s in the room of all known infections, and he doesn’t know which one to pick, surely the camera could have moved up and down to nod, and left and right to shake it’s ‘head’. And the ending, it didn’t really seems as Hollywood as I’ve come to expect.  Sure there were tears and a rainy reunion, but as far as curing the masses, it didn’t happen.

There were some great moments in this film.  Where the Israeli explains this rule (I wonder if it exists in real life) where if there are 10 people, the 10th person must disagree, and accept a treat as true and plausible.  In this manner, Israel created a haven from zombies, by building a wall in about 10 days.  Also, the premise that a zombie would look for ‘fresh’ meat, and therefore overlook those who were weak, such as those with a virus.  If I was more science based, I’m sure I could ripe holes in this theory, but it sounded good to me.

I hear the book it very different to the film, so of course, I’ll just have to read it!

Here’s what other people have said/shown:

Funny image from the film

Alternative review

Is a Brad Pitt zombie flick for you?  Have you read the book?

13 thoughts on “Film review: World War Z

  1. I saw this movie in 4D, which is a gimmick where the seats move and there are speakers next to your head, and there were supposedly smells released into the cinema (although I don’t remember smelling anything – maybe they didn’t have zombie smell 🙂 ).

    Anyway, I thought the movie was pretty good for an action flick, but then was reading some reviews online that said the book was completely different. I was interested so downloaded it onto my kindle, and then read the entire thing in two days. It was completely different (really the only thing it had in common with the movie was the title!). I won’t give anything away, but it’s written as a series of interviews with survivors and is a lot more realistic. I think you’d definitely enjoy it – since you like end of the world books.

    Reply
    • There you go! Was that in Thailand that you saw it? 4D is probably a gimmick haha but could work for certain things. I look forward to the book being borrow-able from the library. Understandably it’s pretty popular right now

      Reply
  2. I think both my husband and I would love this. It’s more my husband’s thing but he’s introduced me to a few ‘classic Zombie’ movies and I actually liked them! It’s the one type of ‘action’ movie I find both funny and gripping.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Goals Update – June | livetolist

Leave a Reply

