Adding storage by the entry

You might remember (if you’ve been following for a long time) that I listed all my house projects back in January, as per Apartment Therapy’s suggestion.  I then reviewed them in April for you too. In there, I mentioned the idea of maybe installing floating shelves at my entry.  Well here they are!

The finished product

The finished product

Can you see the ‘blob’ of blackness at the rear of the buffet? That was my decorative high heels (yes, I know, what?!) and then my wig and my hand bag.  I was not happy about all this living ‘on the surface’ – my eyes and head like big clear surfaces.

On the wall - scarves, jackets etc.  To the right, all my shoes (save a few pairs that are out of season and in storage in my wardrobe)

On the wall – scarves, jackets etc. To the right, all my shoes (save a few pairs that are out of season and in storage in my wardrobe)

So, I decided I needed to change things! First up, move the art work

You can see how the picture shifted left, leaves some perfect space for additional storage

You can see how the picture shifted left, leaves some perfect space for additional storage

A bare and nekkid corner, just screaming for some storage

A bare and nekkid corner, just screaming for some storage

Nekkid corner, you say? How about some super cheap Ikea Lack shelves?

Yikes thats a big hole for the toggle set!

Yikes thats a big hole for the toggle set!

First Ikea shelf up!

First Ikea shelf up!

Floating shelves up (for now)

Floating shelves up (for now)

Adding storage by going up!

Adding storage by going up!

Sadly, this looks simple. Truly? Not at all. The first set of Ramset plugs pulled out of the wall. (You can’t screw into a stud, as the screw heads need to be exactly 22.5cm apart to hang the shelf) I thought it was because the screws were too short to activate the ‘spring’ toggle. So I bought longer screws. Still no cigar. Then back the hardware store for the pricier toggles (which I bought on trip 1, returned on trip 2, then I bought screws on trip 3, and then we’re now at trip 4). Thankfully, these ones held, but sadly proved my super double checked measuring and leveling, ended up with unlevel screw holes, and therefore not entirely ‘flat’ shelves.

So, I’m pretty sure I would NOT leave these for a renter in my place. Which basically means I’ve screwed holes to just have to patch at some date in the future. Sigh.  Alas, it is nice to have some additional storage and more ‘clear open spaces’.  Do you need clear surfaces to feel calm?

12 thoughts on “Adding storage by the entry

  1. I definitely do need clear surfaces to feel calm! The shelving looks great. I must add “learn to install shelving” to my bucket list – very useful life skill!

    Reply
    • They are pretty cool – nice and modern. They might work well for some of your things. Actually, I meant to tell you, I saw the movie ‘This is the End’ and at the beginning, they had a great collection of robots displayed. Thought you’d find it neat (the movie was otherwise a bit much for me!)

      Reply
  2. Sorry your shelves aren’t level as they look very nice. Yes I do need cleared flat surfaces to be happy. I can easily fill any table top so my answer is to have as little available flat surfaces then I can’t clutter it up.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Moving day tips list | livetolist

Leave a Reply

