How to work kitchen drawers in small spaces

No waste Wednesday this week, but back next week I promise.  This is also my 92nd post! I hope to do a ’20 questions+’ for my 100th post, so please feel free to email questions to me at livetolist@gmail.com  It’s ok, I won’t reveal who asked what, and I’m a pretty open book, so feel free to ask whatever you’d like.  If I don’t get any takers, I’ll just share some random facts!

Who’d have thought kitchen drawers would have so many uses?  See, when you live in a smaller place, you need to think beyond the confirms of the room and it’s function.  You need to make what storage you have work for you, even if it’s not ‘conventional’.  You’ll see what I mean…

Just in case you didn't know where my drawers were, they are shaded here!

Just in case you didn’t know where my drawers were, they are shaded here!

The drawers are all 600mm wide, with each drawer being roughly the same height.

Top Drawer

Sure, I have my cutlery (flatware) in the top drawer, but I also have my recipe binder and my measuring tape.  Cause that’s a mighty handy drawer and I ALWAYS seems to be measuring something!  See, there’s even a plastic ruler on the left hand side (cause I can’t recall the dimensions of my cake tins)

Top drawer: Cutlery (or 'flatware'), recipe display books, tape measure. Excess matches (cause I bought the paper wrapped bulk amount over plastic wrapped for less)

Top drawer: Cutlery (or ‘flatware’), recipe display books, tape measure. Excess matches (cause I bought the paper wrapped bulk amount over plastic wrapped for less)

Second Drawer

You’re starting to wonder if I’m really that strange – ok, maybe I oversold you on that.  This is just regular old utensils.  Save for the three hanging on my rail, this is all I got.  Oh and my two knives live on my one shelves – where I can safely see them and not slice my hand off rummaging for other things

Second drawer - utensils.  When there's a colour choice, I go blue :p

Second drawer – utensils. When there’s a colour choice, I go blue :p

Third Drawer

Manuals go here. And those pesky single use items, like alfoil and parchment paper.  Neither compare to the sins of cling film/wrap or saran film but I’m still not happy that I have these 😦

Manuals, manual and more manuals mixed wtih very seldom used paper towel, baking paper and alfoil, with some zip lock bags (reused from other purchases) and abeego wraps.

Manuals, manual and more manuals mixed wtih very seldom used paper towel, baking paper and alfoil, with some zip lock bags (reused from other purchases) and abeego wraps.

Fourth Drawer

You what?  You store electrical items in your kitchen drawer? Well why not? I don’t have a study or a proper entertainment unit.  And I like to charge my phones on the power point directly above the set of drawers.  It just makes sense to toss spare batteries in there too.

Fourth drawer - from the top left and circling round: adapters (international and USB to SD), AA battery chargers x 2, excess batteries for torch and excess cooking utensils (there's a red spatula hiding, wouldn't match my colour scheme in drawer 2!), mobile phone packaging, trash bags for church flowers, hand mixer

Fourth drawer – from the top left and circling round: adapters (international and USB to SD), AA battery chargers x 2, excess batteries for torch and excess cooking utensils (there’s a red spatula hiding, wouldn’t match my colour scheme in drawer 2!), mobile phone packaging, trash bags for church flowers, hand mixer

Bottom Drawer

Somehow I’ve broken with my mother’s (counter) convention, and my bottom drawer does have tea towels in it (I think they may be quaintly called kitchen towels on the mainland US of A).  I also store my microfibre cloths – which are a god send!  There’s a magic eraser, good, but not God sent.

Fifth drawer - tea towels, serviettes (mainly fabric, but the remnants of paper ones), microfibre clothes, a magic eraser and shoe cleaning stuff

Fifth drawer – tea towels, serviettes (mainly fabric, but the remnants of paper ones), microfibre clothes, a magic eraser and shoe cleaning stuff

If you’ve missed it, I’ve also shown you inside my pantry, and my cupboards here and here.

There you go – that’s my kitchen drawers. Anything you wonder – where does she store ‘x’? How do you organise your drawers?  Anything strange lurking where you someone might not expect?

15 thoughts on “How to work kitchen drawers in small spaces

  1. Those drawers look fabulous! The cutlery drawer is so organised and sparkly. I like the idea of the ruler – I keep forgetting the size of my baking tins too. I like how spare and organised your second drawer is too. I’ve had to split my ‘second drawer’ into two drawers as I have a lot of utensils. I’ve gotten rid of double-ups though so that’s a good start. These inventory posts are great!

    Reply
    • It’s a balance isn’t it – I really need multiple tongs and spatulas/plate scrapers – there are more than double ups! But I’m not going to allow another drawer so I might have to rationalise eventually! One thing I’m missing is a brush (for brushing pastry) – my work arounds aren’t coming up to scratch!

      I did try writing dimensions on the undersides of things but oil makes them come off 😦

      Reply
  2. Oh, I love the idea of the recipe book in the top drawer! (copying that!) Do you have any extra recipe books in the kitchen?

    Reply
    • I have another 3 – which I seldom use, including the common sense cookbook. They live above the cupboards in the small space under the rafters – you can see them in the first ‘kitchen’ photo on my house tour page. Those two binders have sweet and savoury (one binder for each). I also get some recipes on my phone’s display, but it’s not as easy as a paper recipe you can make notes on!

      Reply
  3. Sarah, I have one drawer in my kitchen. I needed to make the most of it instead of taking space with a tray to hold silverware I keep them on the counter in 2 cans. The drawer holds my cloth napkins, a few cooking utensils, a box of tea bags, dish cloths and towels, cloth napkins, 3 sharp knives and finally in the too portion of an egg carton I keep a few tools I use regularly. Sounds like a lot but with each item having a designated place its neat and easy to access.

    Reply
    • Lois, you continually amaze me with how ‘small’ you live! I’d love to see a photo sometime. Actually my two sharp knives hang out on my glass shelves – woot, I have one less in something :p

      Reply
  4. Very neat and tidy, and the organization/categories make sense to me! I have batteries and chargers in a drawer in my kitchen too, and some basic hardware like picture hangers.

    Reply
    • Oh, that’s a post I could do – where things like picture hangers are! I have a great Ikea set of drawers that work wonderfully for smaller hardware and stationary items.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: My house review | livetolist

Leave a Reply

