Book Review: Perfume by Patrick Suskind

I finished another book! (I’m only celebrating cause the last one seemed to take forever to conquer!)

Perfume by Patrick Suskind source:musingsofabookshopgirl.blogspot.com

Perfume by Patrick Suskind
source:musingsofabookshopgirl.blogspot.com

Perfume was written by a German author, Patrick Suskind and the versions I read was translated by John E Woods. I think it’s important to credit the translator, as so much of the ‘feel’ of a book is due to their ability to convert it into another language. This is, of course, the book that was made into a motion picture in 2006, which I’ve not seen, but will now seek out.

I loved this book, the writing was so lyrical and never too heavy on the descriptions. Sometimes, I feel like authors are throwing in a passage on ‘description’ to show how many adjectives they learnt – reminding me of primary school creative writing lessons! Thankfully, every word seems to be carefully considered, and helps the reader join the main character in the olfactory discovery of France in the 18th century.

The ending was incredibly surprising, as I couldn’t really imagine how you could end a book such as this. It was a great page turner, and killed time in the airport waiting, during flights, and filled my mini break with some lovely reading in the park.

Surfers Paradise

What a way to start a Monday? (Surfer’s Paradise, QLD, Australia)

I spend Sunday evening and all of Monday at the Gold Coast, staying in an incredible hotel – neither of us wanted to leave the one bedroom apartment!

Gold Coast best hotel

View from the bathroom!! Is that cool of what?

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Perfume by Patrick Suskind

  1. Ooh – a Gold Coast mini-break looks wonderful from the perspective of Melbourne in winter!! Looks lovely, hope you had a great time.

    I was thinking last night that it’s been years since I last read a Patricia Cornwall or similar. This could be a good read!

    Reply
    • The books no where near as graphic (in the deaths etc) as Patricia Cornwall (who I loved reading in high school). I can’t imagine you’d need a loan, but my parents have them all, and I’d happily sneak some away to send to you if you wanted! They have walls and walls of books!

      The GC was great, so nice to have a Monday off, makes this week fly by!

      Reply
  2. I never heard of this book or movie, will have to keep my eyes open for it. That view is amazing, can’t believe that was from a bathroom. Did you have views like this every where in your apartment?

    Reply
    • We were on the 18th floor and looked over the canals of the Gold Coast (rather than the wonderful beach photo I took). I think our vantage was an unexpected advantage, as the ‘beach’ views come with a 6.30am sunrise. And neither of us wanted that sort of wake up on a ‘holiday’ (well it was a holiday for me!)

      Reply
  3. I remember not going to see the film because I wanted to read the book but somehow it escaped me that the book was originally German. Excellent. I keep saying I need to read more German. Must check it out.

    Queensland looks amazing – I managed to make it to Brisbane for a day when I was in Australia in December and loved it. Really wished I’d had time to do more travel up there. Glad you had a great time.

    Reply
    • I hope the German is as moving as the English, it was really well written in my opinion. I’ll have to seek out the movie too, now that I’ve read it.

      Queensland is ‘sunny one day, beautiful the next’ as they say (our reality was ‘rainy one day, beautiful the next’! Everyone just seems so much more relaxed ‘up north’ than they do here in Sydney!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Goals Update – June | livetolist

Leave a Reply

