Why I read your blog

So Carla, at My Daily 1/2 Dozen wrote a great post recently about why she reads someone’s blog.  I couldn’t agree with her more, and thought I might also list why I keep coming back to your blog (or not :p)  Naturally there’s some overlap with Carla’s list!

1. You post regularly.  Maybe not daily, but often enough to keep me hanging around.  Since I’ve mastered emails to my inbox for my favourite blogs, I can be sure I won’t miss a post, especially when you might only write irregularly.  And of course, it’s nice if it’s ‘easy’ to follow your blog!

2. I don’t feel like I’m a ‘customer’.  This is a tricky one.  If I feel like you’re only blogging for the AdSense dollars, or affiliate link money then I get my back up.  There’s some blogs that are on the border of being booted off my reading list for making me feel like I’m only a statistic to make them more money.  This also relates to all the Facebook/Pinterest etc love requests. I don’t need you on every stream (even though your advertisers would like to have me following you on every social media site that’s ever existed)

3. You show me in. I feel like you open up the door to some of your life to your reader.  There are some blogs I sometimes think ‘is there a real person writing this?’.  I’m happy with some sub par photos, it helps me  know there’s a ‘real’ life behind the blog life.  (Far be it for me to want *good* photos, we all know mine are atrocious!)

4. Your content interests me. I read about a lot of random ‘themes’ as my blog roll covers.  I like talking about money, house-y DIY, zero waste, family and managing life (even though I don’t have kids).  And any listing or tracking, wowzas, I’m right there like an eager puppy!  And maybe you write about none of these things, but I just like the way you do things and I can’t explain why!

5. Sometimes you even say hi.  I love a blogger who (even only occasionally  takes the time to reply to comments on their blog.  It’s nice to know you read what we write, and have a thought about it.  Now if only I could master checking back (easy for WordPress blogs and a few people’s who email me, but otherwise a bit tricky)

I wrote this post, not to echo Carla’s, but to shift some bad mojo I’ve been having lately.  I seriously considered ‘a week off’ last weekend, I was that worked up!  I’d drafted some less than positive posts, cause some of the posts I’ve been reading haven’t been fitting into the above criteria.  Hopefully this is a more positive spin on my ‘whinge’ posts… casue no one needs to read those!

So, what keeps you engaged in a blog?  And, how do you keep track of your comments and their replies?

18 thoughts on “Why I read your blog

  1. That’s a very helpful list especially as I’m a fellow blogger thank you! I would agree with your list of items that makes a blog great to read. In terms of posting schedules, I like blogs that only post once to twice a week as I just can’t keep up with any more! I subscribe to blogs on a feed reader (Google Reader which is finishing up soon so I am switching to another one). Some blog authors post several times a week and I just have to “mark them as read” because I’m not going to get time to go through that many posts. But great content a couple of times a week thoughtfully written keeps me hanging out for more. And I actually prefer real-life photography on blogs as I connect more with the person rather than seeing only a highly polished version of their life that I can’t identify with. But maybe that’s because I’m quite a lazy photographer myself. I also like bloggers who reply to comments as I know how much I love getting them on my blog. I have no suggestions for how to track them though, I have a similar problem!

    Reply
    • Hey Kim! I’ll think of you every time I miss a date to post and think “at least I’m not overwhelming Kim” 🙂 I’m still finding my sweet spot on post frequency and content as I’ve only been at it a few months, so your honesty is a real help. I think the reader helps though it’s a shame you’ll have to change platforms soon.

      Reply
  2. Hi Sarah, I must say if posts are shorter I’m much better able to keep up! I do find it easy enough to keep up with your blog and I do love your photos! I think it’s perfectly OK to give yourself a breather by missing a posting here and there. I’ve been blogging for just over a year and find that if I write regularly but post with restraint I can actually get myself a backlog of posts “on hold” so those weeks I’m feeling slacker I have posts ready and waiting.

    Reply
    • I think restraint is the key – I’m often eager to publish as soon as I’ve written something! But I think breathing room might improve my sanity. Thanks for encouraging my photos – they can certainly save a lot of words.

      Reply
  3. Sarah, I am so glad you wrote this. I wonder sometimes if people think I post too often. I’m with you on the adsense or other ads. I am not much of a consumer so don’t even notice the ads, but if I have to scroll through tons of ads to get to a comment section in going to leave rather quickly.

    Reply
    • I think the key for daily posting is probably to have some ‘light’ days – ie something regular readers know they can either skip when they’re busy cause it’s regular content (like my waste updates or your weekly roundups) or it’s image rich so the word content is less.

      Sadly hosting with WordPress means I get some ads but it saves costs while I try on blogging for size before committing to a longer haul.

      Reply
  4. That’s a great point about the restraint – I’m very much a “publish now!” person but then it becomes very inconsistent. I don’t really like daily posting because I can’t keep up and have to “mark all as read” periodically. I also get a bit irked by those who *never* comment back (not that comments are expected constantly…but staying in touch is nice!)

    Reply
    • Seems like I could scale back from daily posts! I think a lot of daily writers I chose to read on their site rather than a reader/email. Helps me stop the overwhelming feeling to catch up if and when I have time!

      Reply
      • No!!! when you post daily I like it!! But you also have gaps here and there…it’s when it really is *every* single day for months it can be hard to keep up. 🙂 Also I think it’s good not to feel pressured when there’s other things on 🙂

        Reply
        • Haha okey doke! I do have a week of photo based inventories to come (Mon through Fri) in June so hold onto your hats! But if work takes over other times I’ll just role with some days off 🙂

          Reply
  5. Thanks for visiting my blog and making the comment about the Amish! They are so intriguing and different, aren’t they? I really liked this article, it was very helpful. I was checking off what I do! 🙂

    Reply
    • It’s interesting to think why you read someone’s blog to work out what you might change to make your blog more likable to someone like yourself.

      Reply
  6. I’m also struggling a bit to keep up with posting daily – even with my relatively easy Monday and Friday posts. When I go away in June, my plan is to schedule posts three days a week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday). Anyway, I think you’re right that it’s good to have some time between writing a post and publishing it, and then look at it again with fresh eyes. I’m trying to build up a library of posts so I can be ahead of things, but am finding it hard to be more than a couple of days ahead.

    Reply
    • I think three days a week is a little more manageable – particularly if you’re going to be away. The problem I have (and it’s a small one) with prepared posts is that I say ‘last week’ or ‘yesterday’ and by the time it gets published, that’ll be a lie. I’ve always been such a stickler for the right time ‘approximation’ – not that it matters at all!

      Reply
  7. I like this list and it made me think about why I read the blogs I do. I don’t read as many as I like and I really need to find a replacement for Google Reader as that is how I read all my blogs. Lately I have been drawn to blogs which can help me make positive changes to my life – I don’t comment anywhere near as much as I should. Funny that I am a blogger and generally a very silent reader!

    Reply
    • Then your comment is that much more valuable if they’re infrequent! It takes more brainpower to contribute to a discussion than just absorb. I’m a prolific commenter, probably cause I’m a chatterbox in real life!

      Reply
  8. I agree with everything you said. A few things that turn me off are:
    * Blogs that put up a flurry of posts and then disappear for months (or forever) – but it’s to be expected because new bloggers have to learn by doing, and sometimes it’s just not for them, or Real Life intervenes
    * Blogs with no pictures ever
    * Blogs that copy directly from other sources and don’t give credit (I think inspiration is different than copying)
    * I am not real keen on how-to or advice blogs; I love reading people’s stories about how they’ve done things; but I don’t like being told I should do it the same way, too!
    And I especially like bloggers who post about their detailed hobbies and interests; the geekier the better – whether it is photos of their Tardis collection or a count of their earrings or whatever 🙂

    Reply
    • Welcome back!

      I’ll have to think up my geeky hobbies – I definitely like this inventory style approach – the week of 10 June, I’m running a daily inventory post, auditing different ‘hidden’ storage in my home (cupboards, drawers) to build up to the mammoth inventory summary post.

      No pictures can be a downer – and just make things plain hard to read if it’s long. Also, pictures (i hear) are a great way to increase views/readership as it’s more readily searched. I’m the credit queen, even if The Savy Scot blog and I disagree about it (he thinks Google might penalise me, but I am going to give credit where it’s due, however much of it!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

