How’s it hanging? (Art inventory)

As part of my house inventory, I have decided to document all the art that hangs in my house. All of it provides great memories of my travels. Some of it, you may have seen snippets of in other posts, but the best place to see where they live in my house would be to look at my House Tour

Bedroom:

Cuban lady beside wardrobe

Cuban lady beside wardrobe

Eiffel tower near wardrobes (I took that photo!)

Eiffel tower near wardrobes (I took that photo!)

Christmas gift from a friend in Heidelberg

Christmas gift from a friend in Heidelberg

Orchid water colour from Thailand - one of my first art aquisitions

Orchid water colour from Thailand – one of my first art acquisitions (horrible photo I’m sorry)

Two water colours of the most memorable parts of Rennes, Brittany, where I live in 2006

Two water colours of the most memorable parts of Rennes, Brittany, where I live in 2006

Three views of Rome from a trip in 2006

Three views of Rome from a trip in 2006

Cuban water colour car from my trip in 2010

Cuban water colour car from my trip in 2010

Living Room:

This scarf was a gift on my graduation, but I was never wearing them, so I decided to frame it (at GREAT cost), but I love it, and it works so well in my living room.

This scarf was a gift on my graduation, but I was never wearing them, so I decided to frame it (at GREAT cost), but I love it, and it works so well in my living room.

Hallway:

Cuban photos - these I purchased, but they hang on the other 'little wall' in the hallway

Cuban photos – these I purchased, but they hang on the other ‘little wall’ in the hallway

My souvenir purchase from Morocco last year

My souvenir purchase from Morocco last year

Dumpster find!  Yes, that's two Eiffel towers in my house.  This is at my entrance

Dumpster find! Yes, that’s two Eiffel towers in my house. This is at my entrance

THese photos were taken by yours truly when I lived in France in 2006 - with real black and white film - back when cameras had film and all!

THese photos were taken by yours truly when I lived in France in 2006 – with real black and white film – back when cameras had film and all!

Kitchen:

This artwork comes from Vanuatu, my parents bought it and when I moved out, my mother suggested it would suit my home.

This artwork comes from Vanuatu, my parents bought it and when I moved out, my mother suggested it would suit my home.

8 thoughts on “How’s it hanging? (Art inventory)

  1. That Moroccan mirror is gorgeous. And you’re a great photographer as well – I really like the Eiffel Tower photo. Can’t believe you found the other one in a dumpster! Thanks for posting your inventories, really interesting!

    Reply
    • No sweat Kim – I’m glad someone else is finding it interesting! I know I love other people’s inventories, so I’m glad it’s working on the flipside too.

      Reply
  2. You have good taste, Sarah! – and so does your mom 🙂 I love your Eiffel tower photo and your b/w photos from France. It’s funny, when I lived in the US, I had some photos and drawings of Nova Scotia, but now that I’ve moved back, I decided not to keep them. Most of the wall “art” (and I use that term very loosely) at my place is whimsical/sentimental!

    Reply
    • I think sentimental art is the way to go – you feel connected and reminded by seeing it. Mine’s not whimsical, but it mostly reminds me of my travels which is lovely. It’s sad that you got rid of your Nova Scotia artworks – it’s nice to celebrate where you live too! (Though, you’ll note I have nothing of Sydney in my house, I should get on that! I buy lovely photos for overseas hosts, I should proudly display some in my own place!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

