Zero waste – things I learnt today

So I think I’m doing ok on my waste situation, but today I stumbled on some great things I hadn’t considered, and will look at starting to do.

Plastic funnel

Admittedly, I don’t currently have any funnels – I think I’m a pretty good pourer!  (I also don’t have a potato masher or a pastry brush – might have to acquire the former!).  However, I was made aware by Sarah at Suburban Pioneers that you can make them out of old plastic bottles.  BRILLIANT!  I’ll get on that with some of my excess recycled plastic bottles.

Simple and smart!Source: simpleliving-sherrie.blogspot.com

Simple and smart!
Source: simpleliving-sherrie.blogspot.com

Rubber Bands

I do have a stock pile of rubber bands from eating produce (if you read Sarah’s post, it’s quite funny as she suggest if you’re not collecting them you’re either not eating healthy or well.. not eating healthily!).  But I never thought to make them out of rubber gloves.  I don’t use rubber gloves to wash up anymore, but recently I’ve seen the damage it’s done to my hands.  So at least when I next buy gloves, I’ll have a ‘reuse’ in mind.

Fly paper

I don’t buy this, but I’ve been starting to think I might/could/should.  There’s some pesky little flying things, I’m not sure where they come from, but they aren’t leaving.  So I shall entice them with honey and sugar laden paper (cause I’m certainly not making a dent in my supplies of either over lent).  Trash Backwards had a great how to here.

Trash Backwards

Cling Wrap

I already don’t have cling wrap (though parchment paper and alfoil still hang out at my place).  I do have two ‘Abeego’ wraps (sadly I lost the most versatile large one), which are a company that make beeswax impregnated food wraps.  Now I know I can  DIY reusable food wraps myself.  Admittedly if I’m mailing ordering beeswax, perhaps it’s easier just to order the wraps from Abeego from Canada.  They do send lovely little messages on the invoice!

So versatile source: www.abeego.ca

So versatile source: http://www.abeego.ca

Furniture Protectors

Oh my, I’ve been to Bunnings Hardware FAR too often, and sometimes for little felt ‘feet’ for my dining chairs.  They come with velcro on one side, and felt on the other.  Weirdly the packets offer ‘extra’ felt, but not velcro, and I got sick of the excess felts, so bought a string of velcros – but of course I only need one side.  No matter which way I’ve been playing it, I’ve had surplus.  So, I was delighted to realise – i could use old thongs (flip flops to those that think I was talking about intimates there!).  My most recent dead thongs have long since done to landfill back in Oct, and my new thongs are going strong.

Door Stops

Now, I only have two doors in my house – the one on the bathroom and the entry.  So doorstop needs are limited.  But I did buy one rubber one, and it’s still going strong. However this is WAY nicer, and given all shoes live near my entry, it would work so well!

The best part of the Suburban Pioneers blog was Sarah saying if you’re so good that you don’t generate any of the things for reuse, your neighbours or friendly surely do! Awesome, and oh so true!

6 thoughts on “Zero waste – things I learnt today

Leave a Reply

